Gemstone Meanings & Chakras

Chakra Crystals & Gemstones

chakraNatural crystals and gemstones have long been associated with the seven sacred chakras—intersections of the vital energy that flows through each of us—and with healing the physical and ethereal body. The stones interact with our energetic body by reacting to the electricity that we produce. Their own energy responds by harmonizing and balancing our energetic field. Blocked energy in our chakras can often lead to illness since each chakra corresponds with particular areas and organs in the body and with energies governed by these areas. As a chakra is cleared and vitalized, the associated organ can return to its optimum state. Likewise, when energy flows freely through our chakras, we may experience the actualization of qualities represented by each chakra.

Below, we have listed the seven chakras and the crystals and gemstones associated with each of them:

Crown Chakra crown

The highest chakra represents our ability to be fully connected spiritually. It is the center of enlightenment, dynamic thought, and energy.

Location: The very top of the head.
Emotional issues: Inner and outer beauty, our connection to spirituality and pure bliss.

  • Violet – the color of royalty, representing the attainment of the true meanings of spirituality, life, and existence.
  • Golden white – representing the state of perfection in body, mind, emotions and spirituality.

Crystals & gemstones:

  • sapphire
  • green aventurine
  • quartz
  • diamond
  • clear calcite
  • amethyst
  • labradorite

Sacral Chakra sacral

Our connection and ability to accept others and new experiences. It is the center of desire, emotion, creativity, sexuality and intuition.

Location: Lower abdomen, about two inches below the navel and two inches in.
Emotional issues: Sense of abundance, well-being, and pleasure.
Colors: Red/orange – representing creativity, equity and benevolence to all.
Crystals & gemstones:

  • red and brown aventurine
  • carnelian
  • red garnet
  • red jasper
  • ruby
  • moonstone

Solar Plexus Chakra solarplexus

Our ability to be confident and in control of our lives. It is the center of our personal power.

Location: Upper abdomen in the stomach area.
Emotional issues: Self-worth, self-confidence and self-esteem.
Colors: representing meditative thought and intellectual activity.
Crystals & gemstones:

  • amber
  • quartz
  • topaz
  • aragonite
  • citrine
  • golden calcite
  • yellow sapphire

Heart Chakra heart

Our ability to love. It is the center of compassion and our sense of “oneness” with “All That Is.”

Location: Center of chest just above the heart.
Emotional issues: Love, joy and inner peace.

  • Pink – representing softness in strength, empathy and unconditional love.
  • Green – representing soothing, healing, ecstasy, and joyfulness.

Crystals & gemstones:

  • moonstone
  • tourmaline
  • rose quartz
  • aventurine
  • emerald
  • green calcite
  • green tourmaline
  • amazonite
  • jade

Throat Chakra throat

Our ability to communicate. It is the center of understanding of both verbal and mental communication.

Location: Throat.
Emotional issues: Self-expression of feelings and the truth.
Colors: Blue – representing knowledge and oneness with Divine guidance.
Crystals & gemstones:

  • sapphire
  • aquamarine
  • blue chalcedony
  • sodalite
  • red and brown aventurine
  • angelite
  • blue lace agate
  • blue topaz
  • turquoise

Third Eye Chakra thirdeye

Our ability to focus on and see the big picture. It is the center of psychic power and higher intuition.

Location: Forehead between the eyes (also called the Brow Chakra).
Emotional issues: Intuition, imagination, wisdom and the ability to think and make decisions.
Colors: Indigo – representing the search for the spiritual purpose of life.
Crystals & gemstones:

  • diamond
  • amethyst
  • azurite
  • lapis lazuli
  • sodalite
  • fluorite

Root Chakra root

Represents our foundation and feeling of being grounded. It is the center of vitality, physical energy and self-preservation.

Location: Base of spine in the lumbar area.
Emotional issues: Survival issues such as financial independence, money and food.

  • Red – representing the essential and confident passion for life.
  • Black – representing stability and grounding to the source of security.

Crystals & gemstones:

  • bloodstone
  • obsidian
  • onyx
  • hematite
  • tiger’s eye

Images and information from:

Information from:

and from the book:
Love is in the Earth: A Kaleidoscope of Crystals, The Updated Reference Book Describing the Metaphysical Properties of the Mineral Kingdom by Melody